Back in the saddle

My hiatus from blogging has been too long! I thought life would slow down after the election. Ha! Not a chance.

I spent a week in Louisville (my longest ever away from the children!) taking a lactation course and sitting for a certifying exam. It’s been a personal goal of mine for ages and I’m so glad to have accomplished it. I surprised myself with how much I already knew! And in six to eight weeks, I’ll get the results back and (hopefully) be a lactation professional.

My mother-in-law, who helps us so much with the children, got sick while I was away and spent last weekend and early this week recovering. She didn’t feel up to all the cooking yesterday and asked me to do some of it. However, she managed the turkey, provided all the ingredients, and made copies of all the recipes for me. So it was definitely not *my* Thanksgiving dinner, but it was nice to be back in the kitchen on Thanksgiving day. Of course, I always insist on doing the cranberries (the Candidate’s favorite dish) and those went over very well this year! I’ve been tweaking my mom’s recipe for years and I think I finally found the changes I want to stick with.

I never do Black Friday shopping because we always buy local for Christmas, so I spent today quilting with a good friend and her daughter.

Here is our set up in her basement. We had so much fun!

IMG_1417-2.JPG
I took a quilting class for my thirtieth birthday and worked on finishing that. The pattern was for nine blocks, but I bought extra fabric and made twelve instead. Bigger is always better when it comes to quilts, don’t you think?

There is still plenty of worn to do, but here is the blocking all done. I think I’n going to need a private lesson on binding!

IMG_1416-1.JPG

Leave a comment